Going gluten-free can be a challenge, and there are some foods and ingredients you have to be extra careful with. We asked Coeliac UK to highlight the most confusing, gluten-containing culprits...
Approximately one in every 100 people in the UK have coeliac disease, and a whole lot more are choosing to remove gluten from their diets for perceived health benefits. Gluten dodgers know to avoid wheat and keep an eye on grains, but did you know everything from your cereal to your sausages might be hiding some problematic protein? Here, Coeliac UK shines the spotlight on the foods you may not realise contain gluten...
While there are plenty of gluten-free versions available, your regular sausages often contain rusk made from wheat.
2. Soy sauce
Chinese soy sauce traditionally contains wheat! Try substituting for Japanese tamari soy sauce, which is usually gluten-free (though always check the label).
3. Stock cubes
Some brands of stock cubes contain wheat - check the label or make your own stock at home to be sure it's free from gluten.
4. Buckwheat flour
Buckwheat is naturally gluten-free. However, because of growing conditions and processing it can often become contaminated with other grains, such as wheat. Choose a brand labelled gluten-free to be sure it's suitable for you to eat.
5. Dry roasted nuts
Plain nuts don’t contain any gluten, but dry roasted nuts often contain wheat flour in the coating so check the label or opt for plain or salted nuts.
It is a common myth that spelt doesn’t contain gluten, or contains less gluten than other wheat varieties. Spelt is an ancient strain of wheat and contains gluten levels similar to modern day wheat.
Often used as an alternative for rice, couscous is made from granules of durum wheat, so it is not gluten-free. Quinoa on the other hand is gluten-free and can be used in salads, soups or even to make porridge.
Chocolate doesn’t usually contain any gluten in its ingredients, but due to manufacturing methods some varieties have a risk of contamination as other products (like chocolate coated biscuits) are sometimes produced on the same line. Check the label and look out for ‘may contain’ statements.
10. Corn flakes
Although the main ingredient in corn flakes is corn (a naturally gluten-free grain) many brands also contain barley malt extract, which is used as a flavouring. Some corn flakes will only have a small amount at a safe level for those on a gluten-free diet. However, some contain higher levels meaning they are not suitable. Coeliac UK provides more information on the suitability of products like this.
How to read labels...
There are regulations in place to ensure only foods that are truly gluten-free can use the label on their packaging. All packaged foods in the UK and the EU are covered by labelling laws, which include rules around the allergen information that has to be provided on the label. For example, gluten-containing cereals are one of the 14 listed allergens that must be listed and emphasised in the ingredients list. Therefore, if a cereal contains wheat, rye or barley for example, it must be listed in the ingredients list, no matter how little of it is used. You can read more about labelling laws at Coeliac UK.
Still concerned about gluten? BBC Good Food is here to help:
Find out more about coeliac disease at Coeliac UK.
This article was last reviewed on 24 July 2019 by Kerry Torrens.
A qualified nutritionist (MBANT), Kerry Torrens is a contributing author to a number of nutritional and cookery publications including BBC Good Food magazine. Kerry is a member of the The Royal Society of Medicine, Complementary and Natural Healthcare Council (CNHC), British Association for Applied Nutrition and Nutritional Therapy (BANT).
All health content on bbcgoodfood.com is provided for general information only, and should not be treated as a substitute for the medical advice of your own doctor or any other health care professional. If you have any concerns about your general health, you should contact your local health care provider. See our website terms and conditions for more information.