Spotlight on... Gluten-free
What is a gluten-free diet? Our nutrition expert Jo Lewin explains what it means for your health, what to watch out for and where you can find support.
What is gluten?
Gluten is the protein component found in wheat, rye, oats and barley. It gives elasticity, strength and the ability to 'hold' food products together. These properties have made gluten a popular ingredient in the manufacturing of a wide number of food items and commercial products.
Modern diets have become increasingly high in refined wheat products, which has led to the consumption of significant amounts of gluten. It is thought that some individuals are more sensitive to gluten than others. For the gluten sensitive individual, over consumption may lead to digestive symptoms such as bloating, pain and stomach cramps. For this reason, growing numbers of people choose to follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten intolerance is different from an allergy to gluten; a condition called coeliac disease.
A note about coeliac disease
Coeliac disease is a medically diagnosed auto immune condition in which gluten causes an allergic reaction in the gut. In people with coeliac disease, consuming gluten causes an immune reaction to the lining of the small intestine. This inflammatory response can lead to persistent digestive disturbances, malabsorption of certain nutrients and a range of possible symptoms including fatigue, weight loss and skin conditions. The myriad of symptoms and varying degrees of severity associated with coeliac disease make it hard to diagnose. The main treatment is to follow a gluten-free diet. If you suspect you have coeliac disease, you are advised you go to your GP for further information.
A strict gluten-free diet involves the avoidance of any product made from wheat, barley, oats or rye. Gluten intolerants may find they are able to tolerate small quantities of oats and older varieties of wheat such as spelt or kamut, which have a lower content of gluten.
Avoiding gluten can be hard as wheat is so widely used in commercially manufactured, ready-made foods. But eating gluten-free doesn't have to mean brick-like-bread, dry flaky pastries or gritty gluten-free crackers, nor does it mean sacrificing good nutrition and tasty food. Fortunately there are now a wide range of gluten-free products and resources available. Becoming informed and able to read labels and ingredient lists to recognise gluten in its many guises will certainly be an advantage. The Coeliac UK website has a trusted food and drink directory for members along with other useful advice on living gluten-free.
If you are following a gluten-free diet, try to ensure it is nutrient dense and full of whole foods. Although there are a wide range of gluten-free products now available, they may not be as high in fibre, iron, folic acid and B vitamins as gluten containing counterparts. If you have any queries concerning your nutritional intake you should speak to your GP.
To ensure you are getting enough fibre and B-vitamins, eat a wide variety of gluten-free grains, fruit and vegetables. Alternative grains such as corn (maize, polenta), soya, potato, quinoa, cornflour, millet, arrowroot, buckwheat, amaranth and rice flours can increase the nutrient profile of the gluten-free diet. Opt for whole grain gluten-free flour mixes which contain more fibre than the highly refined tapioca, white rice and corn starch flours.
The best sources of iron are from meat such as beef, poultry and fish or plant based sources such as beans, legumes and leafy green vegetables, which are all gluten-free. To enhance the absorption of iron, consume iron rich foods with sources of vitamin C.
Folic acid has particular importance for pregnant women and women in their child-bearing years. Some of the best sources are yeast, green leafy vegetables, asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, beans and lentils.
Things to watch out for
'Hidden' gluten may be in processed meats, dry roasted nuts, marinades, soy sauce, condiments, malt, spice mixes and more. It is advisable to read the labels on everything you plan to eat and create a 'safe' foods list.
Oats: Some people with coeliac disease can eat oats but they are often produced in the same place as wheat, barley and rye and may be at risk of cross contamination.
Labelling: 'Gluten Free' food labels = less than 20 parts per million gluten is the most trusted food label for gluten-free foods. Take care with other labels.
Cost: Gluten-free diets can be quite expensive. Coeliac sufferers are eligible for foods on prescription.